How To Cancel A Friend Request On Facebook ?

If you have sent a friend request on Facebook which is not yet addressed, then there is no way you can cancel the sent request.

( **Update** : FB has come up with a way to cancel a Friend request. Please read this post to know how to cancel a friend request / invite on Facebook. )

Facebook automatically terminates that request after 3 months. Till then the request will be present in his account, unless the user decides to reject or accept it.

This was the case in my account a couple of months ago. May be Facebook should change this rule.

At times, we may end up sending friend request to the wrong person, by mistake. This feature will be handy then 🙂

23 COMMENTS

  1. At time it’s no more possible to read my post’s because my account was disabled, but I have copy of most of them saved on myhard disk.
    It is possible that this was the reason my account have been disabled ?
    If so, why other people wasn’t disabled too ?
    Why the account of other peoples, who really disagreed (racial offence and injure intimidations) the Facebook Principles and Statement of Rights and Responsibilities wasn’t disabled ?

  2. also when go to the bottom of there family listing the it will say

    *repor/block this person
    *sheare this profile
    *cancel friend request

    click the cancel friend request

  3. also when go to the bottom of there family listing the it will say

    *repor/block this person
    *sheare this profile
    *cancel friend request

    click the cancel friend request

  4. also when go to the bottom of there family listing the it will say

    *repor/block this person
    *sheare this profile
    *cancel friend request

    click the cancel

  5. There is another way…(it’s new) go to your friend list
    find the person on the list.
    It should say ‘awaiting confirmation’, and click on the X next to them. It will remove the request.

  6. You can go to your privacy settings and block that person and then unblock them right away or you can wait a hour or so. When you unblock that person go find them again and you will see that the friend request is gone away because you will be able to request them as a friend again. Hope this is helpful

LEAVE A REPLY