Boosting the Sync Process Speed in Iphone by Disabling the Backup Feature

The most prominent features of IPhone smartphones having their mobile operating system 2.0 is the capability of taking complete backup images. Even the iPhone 3G smartphones have this identical feature, where you can even backup the installed applications as well.

During the process of synchronization of mobile devices with the computers, it is not just the documents and the libraries which get backed up. As a matter of fact, you could backup even the changes that are made in the applications, including the games.

However, this backup process of entire data in the iPhone apps will take few moments for completion. This delay in the synchronization process is mainly caused due to the loaded iPhone applications in the devices.

The backup is very essential for the purpose of restoring data because in some cases iPhone get corrupted, or the operating system installed could crash. However, the users who don’t have the need of the applications backups, or the ones who will not lose anything great by losing the applications data, might want to disable the backup feature for boosting the synchronization speed.

Even the iPhone 3G or iPhone users, who use other backup methods like iTunes syncing can disable the applications backup features in order to improve the syncing speed of their devices.

In the past, the iPhone users had to cancel the data backup process in iTunes manually, when iPhone backing up process was running. However, terminating the backup process in the halfway may damage the backups and the files could get corrupted. This would create other unwanted complications while restoring the data back into the device

Here is main workaround provided for forcing iTunes to disable the backup process, as well as for skipping the backing up of the complete iPhone image.

The procedure is as follows:

1. First of all quit iTunes on your system
2. Then you can launch the Terminal.app
3. Type (or copy and paste) the following command, and then hit Launched the

defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool true

4. Now launch the iTunes application
5. Now connect the 2.0 OS powerd original iPhone or iPhone 3G to the computer to start the syncing process. The backup process should now bypass and skip backing up the applications, and only music or podcasts will get synced.

The above commands will change hidden setting inside the iTunes preferences. It disables and turns off the backup process.

If you change your mind and plan to re-enable the application backup feature in your iPhone again, follow the above mentioned procedure but with a slight change in the command:

defaults write com.apple.iTunes DeviceBackupsDisabled -bool false

SHARE

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY